News Bites

HRET Selects Diane E. Meier as 2017 TRUST Award Recipient

May 23, 2017 | By CAPC Staff

The Health Research & Educational Trust (HRET) of the American Hospital Association (AHA) has selected Diane E. Meier, M.D., as the recipient of the 2017 TRUST Award. Dr. Meier is the director of the Center to Advance Palliative Care (CAPC), a national organization devoted to increasing the number and quality of palliative care programs in the United States. Under her leadership, the number of palliative care programs in U.S. hospitals has more than tripled in the last 10 years. At the Icahn School of Medicine at Mount Sinai in New York City, Dr. Meier is vice chair for public policy and professor of geriatrics and palliative medicine, Catherine Gaisman Professor of Medical Ethics, and founder and director (1997-2011) of the Hertzberg Palliative Care Institute.

Established in 2003, the TRUST Award honors individuals who have exhibited visionary leadership in the health care field and who symbolize HRET’s mission to use research and education to improve health care quality in policy and practice. The TRUST Award is presented annually by HRET to a health care leader who has made significant contributions to improving the U.S. health care delivery system.

“Diane has demonstrated extraordinary vision and made many contributions to the health care field through her innovations in age-friendly, person-centered care approaches, specifically on palliative care delivery models,” said David P. Tilton, chair of the HRET board of trustees. “Her leadership at the Center to Advance Palliative Care has helped triple the number of palliative care programs in U.S. hospitals, improving quality of care and quality of life for seriously ill patients.”


This is the 15th year of the HRET TRUST Award. HRET will honor Diane Meier at a reception on July 27, 2017, in San Diego, during the Health Forum/American Hospital Association Leadership Summit. To learn more about the TRUST Award, click here.

Related Posts
View more